Public Holidays in Mexico

flag of 1

Public holidays in Mexico list. Below are National public holidays in Mexico .

Public holidays in Mexico
Public holidays in Mexico

These are Mexico public holidays, national days observed nationwide in Mexico as declared by the Federal government or the supreme authority of the country.

Comprehensive list of public holidays celebrated in Mexico with dates (which may varies) and concise information on the origin or cause and meaning of holidays.


Mexico, officially the United Mexican States, is a country in the southern portion of North America, located south of the United States on the North American continent. The United States borders it on the north; the Pacific Ocean on the south and west; Guatemala, Belize, and the Caribbean Sea on the southeast; and the Gulf of Mexico on the east.

Mexico is bounded on the north by the United States, on the east by the Gulf of Mexico (including the Bay of Campeche), on the west by the Pacific Ocean, and on the south and west by the Caribbean Sea, Belize, and Guatemala.

Dont Miss!   Public Holidays in Dominica

Currently, Mexico observes at least seven national holidays, four official bank-only holidays, and one traditional holiday. Businesses in Mexico are required to provide employees with a paid day off only on the seven national holidays, according to Mexican labor laws. Businesses can choose to give employees a day off for bank or traditional holidays, but they are not required to pay for these days off.

Holidays are governed by labor laws. However, if the need arises, the government reserves the right to add holidays as one-time events. Holidays that fall on a weekend are never moved to the following Monday in Mexico.

Public Holiday

A public holiday, national holiday, or better still legal holiday, is a holiday generally established by law and is usually a non-working day during the year.

Sovereign nations and territories like Mexico observe holidays based on events of significance to their history, such as the National Day.

The public holidays are generally days of celebration or commemoration, like the anniversary of a significant historical event, or can be a religious celebration.

Public holidays can fall on a specific day of the year, be tied to a certain day of the week in a certain month or follow other calendar systems like the Lunar calendar, Islamic calendar and others.

Mexico Public Holidays

In the Mexico , a federal holiday is a calendar date that is recognized and designated by the federal government of the Mexico as a holiday.

Every year on a Mexico public holiday, non-essential federal government offices are closed, stock market trading may usually be suspended, and every federal government employee is paid for the holiday as well.

Dont Miss!   Public Holidays in Cape Verde

Institutions, such as banks, businesses, and schools may be closed on public holidays. In various parts of the country, state and city holidays may be observed concurrently with federal public holidays.

Below are the list of upcoming official Mexico public holidays, bank holidays, government holidays, regional public holidays, non-working national holidays and probably sectorial holidays.

Holidays in Mexico

Jan 01: New Year’s Day

Feb 01: Constitution Day

Mar 15: Benito Juarez’s Birthday

Apr 01: Maundy Thursday

Apr 02: Good Friday

May 01: Labor Day

May 05: Cinco de Mayo

May 10: Mother’s Day

Jun 20: Father’s Day

Sep 16: Independence Day

Oct 12: Day of the Pluricultural Nation

Nov 02: Day of the Dead

Nov 16: Revolution Day

Dec 12: Day of the Virgin of Guadalupe

Dec 25: Christmas Day

*Meanwhile, if a non-working public holiday in Mexico happens during the weekend, then the Monday after would be non-working.

Mexico public holidays listed above

We hope that this list of public holidays in Mexico gives you an idea of which work-free days there is, being a citizen of Mexico or a visitor or probably checking to know which date is which.